drunkencynic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i'm hero, and i'm an ingenue....\"hello, hero.\"

As I was coming out of the store with my sister, I ran into the costumer for Much Ado. She costumed me in Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead. For some reason she likes me a lot. She saved me from bad costume hell in that play. Anyway, she started talking, and informed a horrified Calaandra and I that while conversing with Felicity, and some of the girls in the play, they were talking about my part. Costume Lady had said to Felicity, "Well, I hope you got Sarah for Hero," and one of the girls had said, "I should have been Hero." At which point in her dialogue Costume Lady paused and said, "Well, I'm not naming any names, but she was not attractive at all." And then she went on to explain that to put her in her place she had said, "Well, Hero's supposed to be beautiful."

Horrifying! I can't fathom such rudeness. If someone said that to me, I'd be so angry. As it was, I had to sort of simper and laugh apologetically, and say, "Ahhahh, well."

I couldn't admonish her! She might pay me back by costuming me badly. No, I'm kidding. I just didn't have it in me to object.

Anyway, I don't think there really is anything she could do to sabotage the costumes. Felicity is very keen on a Cirque De Soleil theme, which seems to entail bare scenery and feet, hula hoop skirts (no, not hoop skirts, hula hoop skirts), and acrobatics. An experimental thing. Call me old-fashioned, but what's wrong with good old Elizabethan finery?

She has also taken to changing Elizabethan words to ones modern audiences can't fail to understand. This sits not well with me. I love those words. They're special.

Oh god!

Am I ...

a purist?

With this I leave you, reechy vagroms.

12:46 p.m. - 2003-08-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

glitterkick
hermitude
lackcreatvty
madamepierce
punkathena
guysinmakeup
conpalabras