drunkencynic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tirade

I am offended by the phrase: "less than perfect". Who is to say what is perfect? How can someone have a "perfect body"? I really don't understand. Everyone has their own ideas, really they do. Most of America seems to think that a perfect body is some degree of very thinness, but the truth is, some intelligent, even picky people think that a completely different body type is perfect. Why can't we all just think our own bodies are perfect? I hate that we can't just accept ourselves as perfect the way we are. After I see a movie that makes any kind of impact on me, positive or negative, I go and research it and see what insights into it other people might have. People are condoning the movie (sorry- it's Real Women Have Curves), as a 'feel-good movie that celebrates flaws and less-than-perfect figures'. How can this be? How can one have a less-than-perfect figure? How can you believe that a person can be born imperfect? Perhaps a person is not at the weight that they would be if they were eating a little healthier, and sometimes people get to a weight that is unhealthy for them, but that does not mean that they are imperfect, or ugly, or less-than, or flaw-filled. That aggravates me so much. I believe that we are all perfect, and there isn't anything we can do to change that. We can't mar it or wreck it. We can obscure it, disguise it quite well, but I don't believe that anyone is 'less than'.

*stepping down off the soapbox*

When will someone find me beautiful again?

11:44 p.m. - 2003-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

glitterkick
hermitude
lackcreatvty
madamepierce
punkathena
guysinmakeup
conpalabras