drunkencynic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dickens

I was just reading some profiles and I wondered something. The people who say their favorite author is Charles Dickens...do they really mean it? Have they even read him, do you think? Because I have, and frankly, I think his writing skills are nothing special. Not to mention his sense of exposition time. I mean, the guy published Great Expectations as a serial for heaven's sake. No wonder it seems like he's making it up as he goes along.

I suppose that's the cynic in me, though. The one that hates to be like everyone else. But I think that if these people had any taste and any sense of good writing at all, or if they even read the book that their favorite author wrote once in a while, they might change their opinion.

"Victorian literature is the kind of stuff that everyone wants to have read and nobody wants to read."

9:20 a.m. - 2003-02-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

glitterkick
hermitude
lackcreatvty
madamepierce
punkathena
guysinmakeup
conpalabras