drunkencynic's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ah, sweet lunacy

Dirty Pretty Things lived up to its title perfectly. It was oh so very ugly and yet strangely beautiful (see pretentious rant in 'Ding!').

It made me cry. Real, sorrowful tears. Not "awww, how cute," or "poor guy, his mother died," but, oh my god, that's utterly tragic, and it sickens me and hurts me personally. And then again at the end, when it was beautiful. But never ever manipulative. I love that in a film.

I love watching movies by myself. Was it Ponyboy Curtis or Holden Caulfield who said that he wouldn't watch movies with anyone else because it was like someone reading a book over his shoulder? I agree. I love sitting in a dark theater all by myself, not worrying about if the person next to me is enjoying it, laughing at the cynical parts all by myself. Or renting a movie and cracking up in my dark living room.

There is something to be said for lone derangement...

My computer is now refusing to recognize that Rotten Tomatoes exists. It's in denial.

10:44 p.m. - 2003-10-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

glitterkick
hermitude
lackcreatvty
madamepierce
punkathena
guysinmakeup
conpalabras